Daily Briefing - Wednesday September 29, 2010

Share this Share this

JR Ross has spent the last decade covering Wisconsin politics. Fort the past four years, he has been the editor of WisPolitics.com, the state’s premier political news service. Prior to that, he spent a decade with The Associated Press, including six years as the statehouse correspondent.

Joyce Battle is the Director of Publications and Senior Analyst on South Asia and the Middle East at the National Security Archive, an independent non-governmental research institute and library located at the George Washington University. She directed the Archive’s project on Iraq and edited the set Iraqgate: Saddam Hussein, U.S. Policy, and the Prelude to the Persian Gulf War, 1980-1994. Much of that work is available on the Internet at the National Security Archive’s website.

Christine Fair is a professor in the Center for Peace and Security Studies within Georgetown University’s Edmund A. Walsh School of Foreign Service. Previously, she has served as a senior political scientist with the RAND Corporation, a political officer to the United Nations Assistance Mission to Afghanistan in Kabul, and as a senior research associate in USIP’s Center for Conflict Analysis and Prevention. She is also a senior fellow with the Counter Terrorism Center at West Point. She has authored, co-authored and co-edited several books including Treading Softly on Sacred Ground: Counterinsurgency Operations on Sacred Space, The Madrassah Challenge: Militancy and Religious Education in Pakistan, and Fortifying Pakistan: The Role of U.S. Internal Security Assistance.

Les Radke is the Local Election Supervisor here at KPFK. For the past ten years, he has been a member of Californians for Electoral Reform, a group that fights to replace the winner-take-all system in the US with a proportional representation system used in most industrialized countries. He helped write the Pacifica Bylaws, particularly the section on elections. He was a Local Election Supervisor at KPFA in 2003, and a National Election Supervisor in 2006 and 2009.